Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, March 11, 2025)

Generated by Julie Burch on Tuesday, March 11, 2025

Members present

Commissioner President James R. Guy Commissioner Eric S. Colvin Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr. Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow David Weiskopf, County Administrator Jenna Guzman, Communications Director, Public Information Office Julie Burch, Recorder

Commissioner President Guy called the business meeting of the Commissioners of St. Mary's County to order at 9:02 a.m. in the Chesapeake Building Meeting Room, Governmental Center.

Approval of Consent Agenda

I move to approve the Consent Agenda, which includes the Minutes of March 4, 2025.

Motion by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr., second by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

2. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

A. DRAFT AGENDAS FOR MARCH 18 AND 25, 2025

B. CIRCUIT COURT FOR ST. MARY'S COUNTY - Cooperative Reimbursement - Child Support Agreement

I move to approve the Cooperative Reimbursement Agreement in the amount of \$15,746.00 for FY2025, project US2527, from the State of Maryland Department of Human Services Child Support Division on behalf of the St. Mary's County Circuit Court and authorize the Commissioner President to execute the related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

C. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND TRANSPORTATION - St. Mary's Transit System (STS) Annual Transportation Plan (ATP) Grant Application

MOTION 1: I move to approve the FY2026 St. Mary's Transit System Transportation Grant Application to the Maryland Transit Administration in the amount of \$4,734,815 for operating

and capital programs and authorize the Department Director to submit the ATP electronically, consistent with the documents reviewed by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County and authorize the Commissioner President to sign any related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

MOTION 2: I move to approve the resolution "To Authorize the Commissioner President of the Commissioners of St. Mary's County to File an Application with the Maryland Transit Administration of the Maryland Department of Transportation for Sections 5303, 5304, 5307, 5309, 5310, 5311, 5316 and/or 5317 Grant(s) under the Federal Transit Act".

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

D. DEPARTMENT OF LAND USE AND GROWTH MANAGEMENT - Reorganization

I move to approve the reorganization of the Department of Land Use & Growth Management as proposed.

Motion by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr., second by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

E. DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES - LOSAP 2024 Eligibility Lists

I move to approve the request for certification and approve the eligibility lists of the St. Mary's County Volunteer Fire Departments, Rescue Squads, and Advanced Life Support (ALS) Companies for those individuals who qualify for the length of Service Awards Program/LOSAP service credit for 2024.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

F. DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE - Resolution authorizing the sale and issuance of \$30 million General Obligation Bonds

I move to approve and execute the Resolution authorizing the sale and issuance of general obligation bonds in the amount of \$30 million to fund previously approved capital projects as described in the resolution and authorize the Commissioner President to sign any related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

3. LEGISLATION

A. OFFICE OF THE COUNTY ATTORNEY - Legislative Updates

Present: John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney

MOTION 1: I move to submit a letter of opposition for HB 1554/SB 1045 and to authorize Commissioner President to sign any required documents.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

MOTION 2: I move to submit a letter of opposition for HB 1525 and to authorize Commissioner President to sign any required documents.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

4. COMMISSIONERS' TIME

The Commissioners highlighted events attended over the past week and provided general comments.

MOTION TO ENTER INTO CLOSED SESSION

I move to enter into closed session to discuss Personnel.

Motion by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr., second by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

5. CLOSED SESSION

A. PERSONNEL

Present: James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner David Weiskopf, County Administrator David Yingling, Deputy County Administrator Catherine Pratson, Director, Department of Human Resources Tracy Rohan, Recorder

Authority: §9-512(a)(1) of the Local Government Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland Time Held: 11:02 a.m. - 11:16 a.m. Purpose: To consider or discuss the assignment, promotion, resignation, salary, demotion, dismissal, reprimand, or appointment of a member of a public agency or employee.

6. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 11:16 a.m. Minutes approved by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County on March 18, 2025 _____JB_____ Julie Burch, Senior Admin Coordinator

7. BUDGET WORK SESSION

A. DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE - FY2026 Budget Work Session for County Department Budget Requests and County Compensation

Present: Vanetta VanCleave, Chief Financial Officer Joy Sapp, Deputy Director of Finance