Police Accountability Board (Wednesday, March 12, 2025) Generated by LEGAL ACCPAB on Thursday, March 20, 2025

Members present

Nickolas Cromwell Leslie Everett John Lydon Dr Linda Lymas Thomas Phelan Charles Shilling Jenna Aubert

John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney Gillian Bacon, Legal Assistant, II Lt. Joshua Krum, SMCSO Representative

Absent Michelle Dowleyne Buren Kidd

Meeting called to order at 6:30 PM

1. CALL TO ORDER

Call to Order: A. Call to Order Nickolas Cromwell, Chair, called the March 12, 2025, meeting of the Police Accountability Board to order at 6:30pm Chesapeake Building Meeting Room, Governmental Center.

2. ROLL CALL

Action: A. Approval of Agenda I move to approve the agenda as submitted.

Motion by Charles Shilling, second by Leslie Everett. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Nickolas Cromwell, Leslie Everett, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Thomas Phelan, Charles Shilling, Jenna Aubert Minutes, Action: B. Approval of Minutes I move to approve the minutes of the December 19, 2024, Police Accountability Board.

Motion by Thomas Phelan, second by Dr Linda Lymas. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Nickolas Cromwell, Leslie Everett, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Thomas Phelan, Charles Shilling, Jenna Aubert

3. NEW BUSINESS

Discussion: A. SMCSO - Sheriff Hall

St. Mary's County Sheriff, Steven Hall, fielded questions from board members on reasons that the PAB may be seeing an increase in submitted complaints. SMCSO attributes this increase to the accessibility of the complaint form, which allows the public to more easily submit complaints online through the public portal. Lt. Krum noted that while the Board may be seeing an uptick in the number of complaints, the proportion of complaints that have been sustained has not substantially increased.

Information: B. Body-Worn Camera Demonstration - SMCSO

Lt. Krum, a representative from the SMCSO, gave a presentation to the board on the Axon Body 4, the body camera used by St. Mary's County Sheriff's Officers. The presentation highlighted the various uses and capabilities of the body-worn camera, as well as the features of the Flex POV module.

Discussion, Information: C. Review of ACC Disposition

Nickolas Cromwell, Chairman, provided a brief summary of the dispositions for the following Administrative Charging Committee investigatory files: OPR2024-1197, OPR2024-0722, OPR2024-1800, and OPR2024-1700.

The Chairman along with St. Mary's County Sheriff's Office Representative, Lt. Joshua Krum, took questions regarding these case files from PAB members Charles Shilling and Jenna Aubert.

Discussion, Information: D. 2025 Legislative Update

John Sterling Houser, Deputy County Attorney, gave the Board an overview of proposed legislation that would have had the potential, if enacted, to affect the operations of the Police Accountability Boards and Administrative Charging Committees. Bills specifically discussed by the Board were: HB238/SB533; Public Safety - Police Accountability - Time Limit for Filing Administrative Charges HB985; Police Discipline - Administrative Charging Committees - Additional Charging Committee HB836; County Police Accountability Boards - Investigation of Complaints of Police Misconduct HB885/SB 625; Public Safety - Police Accountability - Investigation Records Relating to Unfounded and Exonerated Complaints

4. ENTRY INTO CLOSED SESSION

Action: A. Entry into Closed Session I move to enter into closed session under Local Government Article, §9-512 (a)(1) for the purpose of discussing personnel matters

Motion by Charles Shilling, second by Leslie Everett Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Nickolas Cromwell, Leslie Everett, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Thomas Phelan, Charles Shilling, Jenna Aubert

5. 8:08 p.m. - CLOSED SESSION

Action, Discussion, Information: A. Appointments to the Administrative Charging Committee Authority: §9-512(a)(1) of the Local Government Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland Time Held: 8:08 p.m. - 8:22 p.m. Location: Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Room Purpose: To discuss the assignment, promotion, resignation, salary, demotion, dismissal, reprimand, or appointment of a member of a public agency or employee.

5. 8:22 P.M. - ADJOURN FROM CLOSED SESSION

Action: A. MOTION TO ADJOURN FROM CLOSED SESSION I move to adjourn from closed session and reconvene in open session. Motion by Nickolas Cromwell, second by John Lydon Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Nickolas Cromwell, Leslie Everett, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Thomas Phelan, Charles Shilling, Jenna Aubert

6. APPOINTMENTS TO THE ADMINISTRATIVE CHARGING COMMITTEE

Action, Discussion, Information: A. Appointments to the Administrative Charging Committee I move to reappoint Michael Deitch and Joyce Dyson to the Administrative Charging Committee for a successive term.

Motion by Charles Shilling, second by Jenna Aubert. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Nickolas Cromwell, Leslie Everett, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Thomas Phelan, Charles Shilling, Jenna Aubert

7. ADJOURN

Action: A. Motion to Adjourn I move to adjourn the March 12, 29025 meeting of the Police Accountability Board.

Motion by Nickolas Cromwell, second by Jenna Aubert. Final Resolution: Motion Carries Yea: Nickolas Cromwell, Leslie Everett, John Lydon, Dr Linda Lymas, Thomas Phelan, Charles Shilling, Jenna Aubert

Meeting adjourned at 8:24PM.