

# ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

#### PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICE

Jenna Guzman, Communications Director SMCG TV 95 Station Manager Media Inquiries: 301-475-4200, ext. 1342, or PIO@stmaryscountymd.gov James R. Guy, President Mike Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael. L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

## NEWS RELEASE for Immediate Release

No. 2025 – 101 May 7, 2025, 9 a.m.

#### **May 6 Commissioner Meeting Rollup**

**LEONARDTOWN, MD** – The Commissioners of St. Mary's County (CSMC) began their business meeting with an invocation and the pledge, followed by approval of the consent agenda.

The CSMC then presented proclamations in recognition of <u>Travel and Tourism Week</u>, <u>Small Business Month</u>, <u>National Nurses Week</u>, and <u>Historical Preservation Month</u>.

The Commissioners then presented the <u>2025 Historic Preservation Awards</u> on behalf of the Department of Land Use & Growth Management and Historic Preservation Commission.

For their main agenda items, the commissioners took the following action:

- <u>Approved</u> the addition of 19 Fire and EMS volunteers to the 2024 certified Length of Service Awards Program (LOSAP) list.
- <u>Approved</u> the establishment of the Active Volunteer Firefighting and Rescue Squad Response Rewards Program in St. Mary's County.

During County Administrator Time, the Commissioners took the following action:

- Reviewed future CSMC meeting agendas.
- <u>Approved</u> the funding request from the St. Mary's County Circuit Court for the addition of a fifth courtroom to the existing Circuit Courthouse and renovations to courtroom four.
- <u>Approved</u> the budget amendment realigning funds to support the RecTrak software upgrade for the Department of Recreation & Parks.
- <u>Authorized</u> the Department of Land Use & Growth Management to seek a Maryland Critical Area Commission Grant for FY2026 in the amount of \$25,000.

The Commissioners wrapped their business meeting with Commissioner Time.

The CSMC reconvened in the afternoon for a Budget Work Session. Community members are encouraged to visit <a href="https://bit.ly/SMCG-FY26-Budget">https://bit.ly/SMCG-FY26-Budget</a> to view the county budget timeline and meeting schedule, watch meeting videos, and more!

In the evening, the Commissioners held their regularly scheduled <u>Public Forum</u>.

- MORE -

#### ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

**PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICE** 

Jenna Guzman, Communications Director SMCG TV 95 Station Manager

Media Inquiries: 301-475-4200, ext. 1342, or PIO@stmaryscountymd.gov

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James R. Guy, President
Mike Alderson, Jr., Commissioner
Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner
Michael. L. Hewitt, Commissioner
Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

### NEWS RELEASE for Immediate Release

The next CSMC meeting will be held on Tuesday, May 13, 2025, at 9 a.m. in the CSMC Meeting Room, on the 1st floor of the Chesapeake Building, located at 41770 Baldridge Street in Leonardtown. There will also be a Budget Work Session that day at 1:30 p.m. CSMC decisions and related documents are available on the SMCG website in BoardDocs. Meetings are open to the public and can be viewed live on TV Channel 95 or on-demand via www.youtube.com/@StMarysCoGov.

For more information on SMCG programs and operations, visit: <a href="www.stmaryscountymd.gov">www.stmaryscountymd.gov</a> or follow St. Mary's County Government on <a href="Facebook">Facebook</a>, <a href="X">X</a>, and <a href="Instagram">Instagram</a> for regular updates.

###