Commissioners of St. Mary's County Meeting Minutes (Tuesday, July 22, 2025)

Generated by Julie Burch on Tuesday, July 22, 2025

Members present

Commissioner President James R. Guy

Commissioner Eric S. Colvin

Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt

Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr.

Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow

David Weiskopf, County Administrator

Jenna Guzman, Communications Director, Public Information Office

Julie Burch, Recorder

Commissioner President Guy called the meeting of the Commissioners of St. Mary's County to order at 9:00 a.m. in the Chesapeake Building Meeting Room, Governmental Center.

Approval of Consent Agenda

I move to approve the Consent Agenda, which includes the Minutes of July 15, 2025.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

2. PRESENTATION

A. CIRCUIT COURT - INTRODUCTION - Newly Designated Judge Hill

Present: Judge Joseph Stanalonis, Administrative Judge

Judge Kevin Hill

Magistrate Sue Ann Armitage

Administrative Judge Joseph Stanalonis presented newly appointed Judge Kevin R. Hill, who will be replacing the Honorable Judge Michael J. Stamm, deceased. Judge Stanalonis also introduced newly appointed Magistrate Sue Ann Armitage.

3. RECOGNITION

A. Maryland Star of Life Recipients Recognition

The following persons were recognized for their swift and selfless actions in response to a medical emergency:

Trooper First Class Zach Saylor, Maryland State Police Aviation

Trooper First Class Alex Calabro, Maryland State Police Aviation

Mr. Jon Morris, Maryland State Police Aviation

Mr. Manuel Franquez, Maryland State Police Aviation

Heather Forest, Paramedic Supervisor

Amy Miller, Paramedic

Allison Mason, Paramedic Intern

Brian Bowen, Emergency Medical Technician

Ashley Corley, Emergency Medical Technician

Kaleigh Moore, Emergency Medical Technician

Bethany Higgs, Emergency Medical Technician

Mark Trowbridge, Mechanicsville Volunteer Fire Department

Bill Hemming, Mechanicsville Volunteer Fire Department

Callen Thompson, Mechanicsville Volunteer Fire Department

Landon Johnson, Mechanicsville Volunteer Fire Department

Delontaye Herbert, Mechanicsville Volunteer Fire Department

Keith Hemming, Mechanicsville Volunteer Fire Department

T.J. Faunce, Mechanicsville Volunteer Fire Department

Ryan Raley, Mechanicsville Volunteer Fire Department

Jimmy Breeden, Mechanicsville Rescue Squad

Chris Cole, Hughesville Volunteer Fire Department

Rick Feist, Hughesville Volunteer Fire Department

Trevor Simpson, Hughesville Volunteer Fire Department

Todd Connick, Hughesville Volunteer Fire Department

4. MAIN AGENDA ITEMS

A. OFFICE OF THE COUNTY ATTORNEY - Discussion and Request for Direction - Future Text Amendments for Fuel Service Stations, Study by Staff, and Moratorium

I move to direct the County Attorney's Office and the Department of Land Use and Growth Management to consider, draft, and make recommendations to the County Commissioners to approve or disapprove the adoption of an ordinance to amend the text of the Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance regarding future fuel sale stations.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr.

Final Resolution: Motion Fails

Yea: Commissioners Colvin, Alderson Nay: Commissioners Guy, Hewitt, Ostrow

5. COUNTY ADMINISTRATOR

A. DRAFT AGENDAS FOR JULY 29 AND AUGUST 19, 2025. There will be no meetings of the Commissioners on August 5 or August 12, 2025.

B. SHERIFF'S OFFICE - Purchase of Upgraded Software and Equipment using locally Forfeited Funds

I move to approve the Sheriff's request for concurrence to purchase upgraded software and equipment for investigative purposes using Locally Forfeited Funds and the related budget amendment to realign accounts within Project #2409LF.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

C. SHERIFF'S OFFICE - Equitable Sharing Agreement and Certification for FY2025

I move to approve the Annual Equitable Sharing Agreement and Certification for FY2025, from the Department of Justice, on behalf of the St. Mary's County Sheriff's Office and authorize the Commissioner President to execute the related documents and the Sheriff's Office Staff to submit electronically.

Motion by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, second by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

D. SHERIFF'S OFFICE - FY2026 Sex Offender Compliance and Enforcement in Maryland Grant Award - GOCPP

I move to approve the FY2026 Sex Offender Compliance and Enforcement in Maryland grant award from the Governor's Office of Crime Prevention and Policy, on behalf of the St. Mary's County Sheriff's Office in the amount of \$12,772. I further move to approve the budget amendment to decrease the State grant funding and realign the non-grant funding in the project to the Sheriff's accounts to cover the non-grant salary/fringe costs and authorize the Commissioner President and the Sheriff to execute the related documents and staff to submit electronically.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

E. DEPARTMENT OF ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT - Business Site Readiness Grant Application

I move to approve the grant application to the Maryland Economic Development Corporation for the Business Site Improvement Grant and have the Commissioner President sign all related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, second by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

F. DEPARTMENT OF AGING & HUMAN SERVICES - FY2026 Long-Term Care and Dementia Care Navigation (LTCDCN) Notification of Grant Award

I move to approve the FY2026 LTCDCN Notification of Grant Award, Project #MD2642, received from the Maryland Department of Aging on behalf of the St. Mary's County Department of Aging & Human Services in the amount of \$41,923 and authorize the Commissioner President to execute the related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, second by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr. Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

G. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC WORKS AND TRANSPORTATION - St. Clements Island Museum Project - Budget Amendment Approvals

I move to approve and authorize the Commissioner President to sign the Budget Amendment transferring funds as identified from the Capital Reserve to the St. Clements Island Museum project.

Motion by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, second by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Alderson, Ostrow

Nay: Commissioner Hewitt

H. DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE - Authorization to Award St. Clements Island Museum Construction

I move to authorize the Procurement Officer to award the St. Clement's Island Museum Construction Project to W.M. Davis, Inc., in an amount estimated to exceed \$1 million, subject to receipt and acceptance of contract-related documents.

Motion by Commissioner Michael R. Alderson, Jr., second by Commissioner Eric S. Colvin.

Final Resolution: Motion Carries

Yea: Commissioners Guy, Colvin, Hewitt, Alderson, Ostrow

6. COMMISSIONERS' TIME

The Commissioners highlighted events over the past week and provided general comments.

7. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned at 10:50 a.m.

Minutes approved by the Commissioners of St. Mary's County on July 29, 2025.

JB

Julie Burch, Senior Admin Coordinator