

ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICE

Jenna Guzman, Communications Director SMCG TV 95 Station Manager

Media Inquiries: 301-475-4200, ext. 1342, or PIO@stmaryscountymd.gov

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James R. Guy, President

Mike Alderson, Jr., Commissioner
Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner
Michael. L. Hewitt, Commissioner

Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

NEWS RELEASE for Immediate Release

No. 2025 – 118 June 3, 2025, 4 p.m.

June 3 Commissioner Meeting Rollup

LEONARDTOWN, MD – The Commissioners of St. Mary's County (CSMC) began their business meeting with an invocation and the pledge, followed by approval of the consent agenda.

The CSMC then presented proclamations in recognition of <u>LGBTQIA Pride Month</u> and <u>National Homeownership Month</u>. They also presented a commendation to <u>James Emery</u> in recognition of his retirement.

The Commissioners then held a public hearing to receive feedback on the transfer of:

- a portion of Camp Cosoma Road from the Maryland Department of Resources (DNR) to the County/CSMC.
- and a portion of Newtowne Neck Road from the County/CSMC to DNR.

The Commissioners then received a <u>Board of Health briefing</u> from Dr. Meena Brewster, St. Mary's County Health Officer.

For their main agenda item, the CSMC approved a request to schedule a <u>public hearing</u> in the evening of June 24, 2025, to consider the proposed amendments to the Steward's Grant Planned Unit Development Plan.

During County Administrator Time, the Commissioners took the following action:

- Reviewed future CSMC meeting agendas.
- <u>Approved</u> the budget request to realign excess revenues collected from the Commission for Women's Annual Banquet to be contributed to the Jane Hale Sypher Scholarship Fund.
- <u>Approved</u> the Department of Public Works & Transportation to submit a grant application to the Federal Aviation Administration for professional environmental and engineering services related to the Pavement Management Plan.
- <u>Approved</u> the proposed updates to the St. Mary's County Manual of Personnel Policies and Procedures.
- <u>Approved</u> the addition of 8 hours of paid leave for St. Mary's County Government Employees for the purposes of volunteering.

The Commissioners wrapped their business meeting with <u>Commissioner Time</u>.

- MORE -

ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT

PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICE

Jenna Guzman, Communications Director SMCG TV 95 Station Manager

Media Inquiries: 301-475-4200, ext. 1342, or PIO@stmaryscountymd.gov

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James R. Guy, President

Mike Alderson, Jr., Commissioner
Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner
Michael. L. Hewitt, Commissioner

Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

NEWS RELEASE for Immediate Release

The next Commissioners meeting will be held on Tuesday, June 10, 2025, at 9 a.m., in the CSMC Meeting Room, on the 1st floor of the Chesapeake Building, located at 41770 Baldridge Street in Leonardtown. CSMC decisions and related documents are available on the SMCG website in BoardDocs. Meetings are open to the public and can be viewed live on TV Channel 95 or on-demand via www.youtube.com/@StMarysCoGov.

For more information on SMCG programs and operations, visit: www.stmaryscountymd.gov or follow St. Mary's County Government on Facebook, X, and Instagram for regular updates.

###