

St. Mary's County Government

PUBLIC INFORMATION OFFICE

Jenna Guzman, Communications Director SMCG TV 95 Station Manager

Media Inquiries: 301-475-4200, ext. 1342, or PIO@stmaryscountymd.gov

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY James R. Guy, President Mike Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael. L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

NEWS RELEASE for Immediate Release

No. 2025 – 125 June 10, 2025, 12 p.m.

June 10 Commissioner Meeting Rollup

LEONARDTOWN, MD - The Commissioners of St. Mary's County (CSMC) began their business meeting with an invocation and the pledge, followed by approval of the consent agenda.

The CSMC then presented proclamations in recognition of World Elder Abuse Awareness Day and National Certified Nursing Assistants Week.

For their main agenda item, the Commissioners approved the Board of Education FY2026 Budget and quarterly payments.

During County Administrator Time, the Commissioners took the following action:

- Reviewed future CSMC meeting agendas.
- Approved the FY2026 Heroin Coordinator grant application on behalf of the St. Mary's County Sheriff's Office.
- Adopted the resolution restating St. Mary's County's Opposition to offshore oil and gas drilling and exploration activities.
- Received an update on the approved/final zoning ordinance changing the zoning designation for the property located at 20698 Goddard Road in Great Mills, Maryland.
- Approved the Program Open Space development and planning applications for the update of the Land Preservation Parks & Recreation Plan, Fifth District LED light conversions, and renovations at Chancellors Run basketball court and Dorsey Park tennis courts.
- Received a presentation from the Department of Economic Development on the new St. Mary's County Agriculture & Seafood brand.

The Commissioners wrapped their business meeting with Commissioner Time.

This afternoon, the CSMC will be attending the 20th Anniversary Celebration of the Northern Senior Activity Center.

The CSMC will not meet on Tuesday, June 17, 2025. The next Commissioners meeting will be held on Tuesday, June 24, 2025, at 9 a.m., in the CSMC Meeting Room, on the 1st floor of the Chesapeake Building, located at 41770 Baldridge Street in Leonardtown. CSMC decisions and related documents are available on the SMCG website in BoardDocs. Meetings are open to the public and can be viewed live on TV Channel 95 or on-demand via www.youtube.com/@StMarysCoGov.

- MORE -



St. Mary's County Government Public Information Office

Jenna Guzman, Communications Director SMCG TV 95 Station Manager Media Inquiries: 301-475-4200, ext. 1342, or <u>PIO@stmaryscountymd.gov</u>

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James R. Guy, President
Mike Alderson, Jr., Commissioner
Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner
Michael. L. Hewitt, Commissioner
Countymd.gov
Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

NEWS RELEASE for Immediate Release

For more information on SMCG programs and operations, visit: <u>www.stmaryscountymd.gov</u> or follow St. Mary's County Government on <u>Facebook</u>, <u>X</u>, and <u>Instagram</u> for regular updates.

###