Skip to Content

About the Commissioners of St. Mary's County

Commissioners Randy Guy
301-475-4200 ext. 1361


James R. Guy

Commissioner President

Mr. James "Randy" Guy is serving his third term as Commissioner President of the Commissioners of St. Mary’s County. He was born in Leonardtown and graduated with a degree in transportation and traffic management from the Community College of the Air Force.

Mr. Guy worked in his family’s business while growing up in Ridge, Maryland. He joined the Air Force in 1966 and served 26 years as a loadmaster on C-130s and C-141s. His assignments included a tour in Viet Nam, and participation in many operational missions. During his career he was based in the Philippines, bases in North and South Carolina and served as the Air Lift Manager at the Joint Chemical Warfare Test Group in Virginia. He ended his career as the Enlisted Air Crew Manager at the Pentagon in Washington, DC.

Mr. Guy has also served in many capacities in St. Mary’s County. During a break in service in the early 1970s, Mr. Guy was a deputy sheriff with the St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Department. Following his Air Force career, he returned home and opened a small business, Southern Maryland Pools and Spa, in Hollywood, Maryland. He continued in business for eleven years.

Since his retirement Mr. Guy has been active in local politics. He served on the Central Committee from 1998-2002. He has also served on the Board of Appeals from July 2009 – November 2014.

Mr. Guy is also a very active volunteer in the community. Since 1994 he has been a member of the American Legion, Southern Maryland Post 221, where he has served in many capacities including Post Commander and as a member of the American Legion Executive Committee at the state level. Mr. Guy is also a member of the Leonardtown Lion’s Club.

He lives in Clements with his wife, Carolyn. They have one son, Charles.

Commissioners Eric Colvin
301-475-4200 ext. 1354


Eric Colvin

Commissioner, First District

Eric Colvin is serving his second term as a Commissioner of St Mary’s County, representing District 1. He was born and raised in Leonardtown, attending Leonardtown Elementary, Middle, and High Schools. He graduated Summa Cum Laude with Bellavance Honors from Salisbury University with dual majors in Political Science and History and a minor in Marketing.

Eric earned a Master’s of Business Administration (MBA) degree from The College of William and Mary’s Mason School of Business.

Eric has worked for several defense contractors in the area. For the last 15 years, Eric has worked as a Financial Analyst at Webster Field, St. Inigoes.

Eric, his wife Joanna, and son Sidney have a small flock of chickens and are hobby beekeepers. They worship at Leonardtown Church of the Nazarene.

Commissioners Michael Hewitt
301-475-4200 ext. 1355


Michael L. Hewitt

Commissioner, Second District

Michael L. Hewitt is serving his third term as a Commissioner of St Mary’s County, representing District 2. He was born in Maine and moved with his family to St Mary’s County in 1963. He attended St Michael’s Elementary School in Ridge, Esperanza Middle school and Great Mills High School. He then graduated from St Mary’s College of Maryland. After college, Mr. Hewitt started working in the family business started by his father in February of 1964. He took over the company Hewitt’s Service Center, located in Lexington Park, after his father’s sudden death in 1981. He continued operating it until January 2017, when he and his wife sold the business and retired.

Mr. Hewitt married his college sweetheart, Elaine Maria Pappas of Baltimore, MD, in 1977, and they currently reside in Hollywood, MD. They have two children, Matthew and Kristina. Matthew is married to Kelsey O’Neill of Philadelphia, PA, and they live in Bel Air, MD, with their three children, Sloan Michelle, Colin Matthew, and Lennon Elaine. Matthew has a Ph.D. in Bio Physics and Physiology and is the Executive Director of Scientific Solutions Cell and Gene Therapy at Charles River Laboratories based in Boston, MA. His daughter Kristina is a Program Manager and works on NAS Patuxent River, MD. She is married to Nathan Thompson, and they have three daughters, Madalynn Rose, Eva Grace, and Charlotte Marie. They also live in Hollywood, MD, with their family dogs, Roxie and Buddy.

Mr. Hewitt has served St Mary’s County residents for two terms as a County Commissioner. His previous public service has included the St Mary’s County Planning Commission (1994-1996), the St Mary’s County Board of Education (1996-2000), and the Board of Education’s Budget Advisory Committee, Audit Committee, Ethics and Health and Human Services Committee. He also served on the St Mary’s County Zoning Board of Appeals from 2000-2006. In 1998 he was appointed to the Maryland Route 235 Focus Group, from 2000-2006 served on the Calvert County Marine Museum Board of Governors in Solomon’s, MD, and from 2011 to 2014, he served on the Patuxent River Naval Air Museum Board of Directors. Governor Larry Hogan appointed Mr. Hewitt to the Critical Areas Commission in 2014, where he continues to serve, and to the Patuxent River Commission, where he served from 2014-2018.

Mr. Hewitt’s civic involvement includes membership in the St. Mary’s County BPO Elks Lodge #2092 in Lexington Park, twice as President, three times as Officer of the Year, and twice as Citizen of the Year. He belongs to the Fraternal Order of the Moose Lodge #2393 and Thomas J. Shyrock Masonic Lodge #223 in Hollywood, MD. His family is a member of St John’s Catholic Church in Hollywood, where he serves as an Usher during Sunday Mass.

Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr.
301-475-4200 ext. 1357


Mike Alderson, Jr.

Commissioner, Third District

Mike Alderson, Jr. is a first-term Commissioner representing District 3. He was born at Patuxent River Naval Air Station Hospital and was raised in the southern end of the county, attending Ridge Elementary, Esperanza Middle School, and Great Mills High School. He graduated as the Honor Man for his platoon with the Marine Corps and served with the 2nd Light Armored Infantry Battalion during Operations Desert Shield/Desert Storm.

Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow
301-475-4200 ext. 1353


Scott R. Ostrow

Commissioner, Fourth District

Scott Ostrow is a first-term Commissioner representing District 4. He was born in New York City and raised in Orange County, California. He and his family moved to St. Mary’s County in 2014 and now live in Lexington Park, where he is an active member of Cornerstone Presbyterian Church. He has a bachelor’s degree in Business Administration with an emphasis on finance and a master’s degree in Business Administration and Leadership.